ALPINE, born from the passion of a man, Jean REDELE, for cars and for competition.

Renault dealer since 1946, he started to run with the latest model in 1950: the 4CV.

In 1952 he wins his category in the MILLE MIGLIA with an improved 4CV, which started the ball rolling. The 4CV was modified, and then another body designed by MICHELOTTI was installed on the original base, turning it into the “4CV Spéciale”.

It wasn’t enough, so he entrusted the build of a lighter body onto the base of the 4CV to the Chappe brothers, specialists of a new material – polyester – which was appearing in automobiles in France. The first ALPINE was born in 1955, the A106 referring to the 1060 type of the 4CV, with a fiberglass-reinforced polyester-resin body. The body-platform assembly took place in the workshops of his father-in-law, Monsieur Escoffier, a Renault dealer based in Paris.

In 1959, the A108, its heir, was based on a 4CV platform with a DAUPHINE rear crossbar. J. REDELE launched at the same time the A108 cabriolet with a reinforced chassis – it’s the first stuttering of the backbone chassis!

The specific bodywork of the “A108 sport coupé” that followed was called “Tour de France berlinetta”, with an elongated rear to accommodate the longer engine, with its 5 extra bearings. The design – a rear swingarm-mounted engine – had as many advantages as disadvantages, but it stayed nearly unchanged until 1976 after having shown that in rallies that sophistication wasn’t essential for winning, until a “world championship” in 1973!

However the A110 in 1962 is radically different, with a backbone chassis supporting a Renault front suspension, and at the rear, a tubular frame only supporting a 1’000 cm3 Renault engine, then 1’100 the following year, 1’300 in 1966 and lastly 1’600 in 1969.

In 1972, the rear suspension had reached its limits in transmitting power, so they had to improve again to keep up with the competition, and to increase its clearance on the roads of the world championship that were sometimes quite lumpy.

A suspension of stacked triangles at the rear (as at the front) would bring an improvement.

Brand
ALPINE
Model
1600SC
N° de série
20348
Types Mines
1600VD
Bodywork
Conduite intérieure 2 portes
Power
Essence – 9CV
Kilometers
00503

À l’origine d’ALPINE, la passion d’un homme, Jean REDELE, pour l’automobile et pour la compétition. Concessionnaire Renault dès 1946, il commence à courir avec le nouveau modèle d’alors : la 4CV, en 1950.

En 1952 il s’attribue sur une 4CV améliorée, sa catégorie aux MILLE MIGLIA, le mouvement est lancé. La 4CV est modifiée, puis une autre carrosserie dessinée par MICHELOTTI est installée sur la plateforme d’origine, c’est la « 4CV Spéciale ».

Ce n’était pas suffisant, alors il confie aux frères Chappe, des spécialistes d’un nouveau matériau le « polyester » qui apparaissait en France dans l’automobile, la construction d’une carrosserie plus légère sur une plateforme de 4CV. En 1955 née la première « ALPINE » référencée A106 en référence au type 1060 de la 4CV, avec carrosserie en résine de polyester renforcée de fibre de verre. L’assemblage coque-plateforme est réalisé dans les locaux de son beau-père, Monsieur Escoffier, concessionnaire Renault à Paris.

L’A108, l’héritière, en 1959 est basée sur une plateforme de 4CV avec traverse arrière de DAUPHINE. J.REDELE lance en parallèle une A108 cabriolet dont le châssis est renforcé, c’est le premier balbutiement du châssis poutre !

La carrosserie du « coupé sport A108 » qui suit est spécifique baptisé « berlinette Tour de France » avec arrière allongé pour accueillir un moteur 5 paliers plus long. La conception – moteur en porte à faux arrière – offrait autant d’avantages que d’inconvénients mais elle est restée quasi inchangée jusqu’en 1976 après avoir prouvé en rallyes que la sophistication n’était pas indispensable pour remporter des victoires, jusqu’à un « championnat du monde » en 1973 !

Par contre l’A110, en 1962 est radicalement différente avec un châssis poutre supportant un train avant Renault, et à l’arrière un bâti tubulaire supportant seulement une mécanique Renault de 1.000 cm3, puis 1.100 l’année suivante, 1.300 en 1966 et enfin 1.600 en 1969.

En 1972, le train arrière avait atteint ses limites pour transmettre la puissance qu’il fallait encore augmenter pour lutter avec la concurrence, et pour accroître son débattement sur les routes parfois défoncées du championnat du monde.

Une suspension à triangles superposés à l’arrière (comme à l’avant) allait apporter une embellie.

Marque
ALPINE
Modèle
1600SC
N° de série
20348
Types Mines
1600VD
Genre-Carrosserie
Conduite intérieure 2 portes
Energie - Puissance
Essence – 9CV
Kilomètres affichés
00503