Derek BENNET, the founder of the CHEVRON brand, began to make “specials” for club races, answering regulations which let the designers’ imaginations run free, all the while using the mechanical parts from the series.

He also built some for clients, and from 1966, he chose the BMW 2-litre engine which came from the brand’s 2002 for his own B4, well before his competitors. The B5 with the 2-litre BRM V8 marked a turning point by going up against the best international manufacturers.

44 B8 (coupés) were built, as well as 14 B15 for Formula 3!

The “B16” model, from 1969, rigorously built, was more than an evolution of the previous “B8” model, with a more aerodynamic body built by “Specialised Mouldings”, and it would go on to win from its first outing after a shortened development.

With two half-spoilers attached to the rear, its handling improved massively, becoming nearly perfect. The drivers appreciated this coupé, simply built, easy to maintain, to run, and to rebuild if needed…

One of Derek BENNETT’s goals was to build at least 25 B16 to get the ‘sport’ homologation. COSWORTH who supplied the 1600 cm3 FVA to be installed in the B8, agreed to raise the capacity to 1’790 cm3 with a different crank shaft so as to near the class cylinder limit of 2.0-litre engines. The FVC stayed unbeatable right until the arrival of the M12/7 BMW in 1972/73.

By removing the roof, the “B16” became the “B16 Spyder”, later renamed B19.

The FVA COSWORTH engine (2 overhead camshafts) was built for Formula 2, limited to 1’600 cm3 at the time for sprint races. The FVC raised to 1’790 cm3 (still a cast iron block), kept the same characteristics of rotation speed, but also lost reliability… the BMW M10 engine (1 ACT) though less powerful was much more adapted to long races. It is this type of engine that equips the car today.

Brand
CHEVRON
Model
B16
N° de série
CH-DBE-35
First outing
1971
Bodywork
Groupe 4 coupé
Power
Ess 1600cm3
Colors
Blue + bande longitudinale blanche

Derek BENNET le fondateur de la marque CHEVRON commença à se fabriquer des « spéciales » pour des courses club répondant à un règlement laissant libre cours à l’imagination des concepteurs tout en utilisant des pièces mécaniques issues de la série.

Il en construisit aussi pour des clients et dès 1966 il choisit le moteur BMW 2 litres issu des 2002 de la marque pour sa B4 personnelle bien avant ses concurrents. La B5 avec moteur BRM V8 de 2 litres marquait un tournant en s’opposant aux meilleurs constructeurs internationaux.

44 B8 (coupés) furent construites, et aussi 14 B15 de formule 3 !

Le modèle « B16 », courant 1969, rigoureusement construit, plus qu’une évolution du modèle précédent la « B8 » avec une carrosserie plus aérodynamique fabriquée par « Spécialised Mouldings » allait gagner dès sa première sortie après une mise au point raccourcie.

Avec deux demi-spoiler greffés sur le capot arrière, la tenue de route progressait terriblement, devenant quasi parfaite. Les pilotes ont apprécié ce coupé simplement construit, facile à entretenir, à exploiter et à reconstruire le cas échéant…

Un des buts de Derek BENNETT était de fabriquer au moins 25 B16 pour obtenir l’homologation « sport ». COSWORTH qui avait fourni des FVA 1600 cm3 pour qu’ils soient installés dans des B8 accepta de porter la cylindrée à 1.790 cm3 avec un autre vilebrequin afin de se rapprocher de la limite de classe de cylindrée de 2.0 litres. Ce fut le FVC qui resta imbattable jusqu’à l’arrivée des BMW M12/7 en 1972/73.

En supprimant le toit la « B16 » devint B16 Spyder » baptisée plus tard B19.

Le moteur COSWORTH FVA (2 arbres à cames en tête) avait été conçu pour la Formule 2, limité à 1.600 cm3 à l’époque pour des courses sprint. Le FVC porté à 1.790 cm3 (toujours bloc fonte) avait gardé les mêmes caractéristiques de vitesse de rotation mais perdait aussi en fiabilité… Le moteur BMW M10 (1 ACT) bien que moins puissant était plus adapté aux courses longues. C’est ce type de moteur qui équipe aujourd’hui la voiture.

Marque
CHEVRON
Modèle
B16
PN° de série
CH-DBE-35
Mise en service
1971
Genre-Carrosserie
Groupe 4 coupé
Energie - Puissance
Ess 1600cm3
Couleurs
Bleu + bande longitudinale blanche