Jean RONDEAU was born in Le Mans, and like many of his fellow citizens, he quickly became a fan of race cars, especially those that take part in the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Before becoming a manufacturer, Jean RONDEAU was a race driver, namely with a CHEVRON B21 in Le Mans in 1972. In 1975, he decided to build his own cars with the support of INALTERA, a wallpaper manufacturer, and with the help of G. WELTER, a Peugeot designer. Two cars took part in the 24 Hour race in 1976, and made it to the end!

In 1978, the cars bear the name of RONDEAU. He manages to win the event in 1988 at the wheel of his own car: a unique occurrence in the annals of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

17 sport prototypes were built between 1978 and 1982, all inspired from studies carried out during the INALTERA period, then adapted to the regulations, which changed almost every year, for the category of the respective event, and to the chosen engine

Seven 382 chassis were built, of which 2 were transformed to change from a 3.3 litre COSWORTH V8 FORD engine to a 5’900 cm3 CHEVROLET V8. It is one of these two that has been examined. It took part in the 24 Hours of Daytona in 1982, in the hands of Danny SULLIVAN and Gary BELSCHER, the RONDEAU importer in the USA. It was driven twice by Jean RODEAU himself in 1984

 

Brand
RONDEAU
Model
382
Type
C
First outing
1982
Bodywork
Groupe C / IMSA – coupé
Power
Fuel
Colors
Red + Yellow

Jean RONDEAU est né au Mans et comme bon nombre de ses concitoyens il est vite devenu un fanatique de voitures de course surtout celles qui participent aux 24 heures.

Avant d’être constructeur Jean RONDEAU a été pilote, notamment avec une CHEVRON B21 au Mans en 1972. En 1975 il décide de fabriquer ses propres voitures avec le soutien d’INALTERA fabricant de papier peint et l’aide de G. WELTER styliste Peugeot. Deux voitures sont alignées aux 24 h du Mans 76, elles sont à l’arrivée !

En 78 les voitures portent désormais le nom de RONDEAU.  Il parvient à gagner l’épreuve en 1988 au volant de sa propre voiture : fait unique dans les annales des 24H du Mans.

17 voitures de sport/prototypes ont été fabriquées de 1978 à 1982, toutes inspirées des études réalisées durant la période INALTERA puis adaptées à la règlementation évoluant quasi chaque année, à la catégorie d’épreuve concernée, et à la motorisation choisie.

7 châssis 382 furent construits dont 2 furent transformés pour passer d’une motorisation par FORD COSWORTH V8 de 3,3 litres à une motorisation par V8 CHEVROLET de 5.900 cm3. C’est une de ces deux dernières qui a été examinée. Elle a disputé les .24h de Daytona en 1982 aux mains de Danny SULLIVAN et Gary BELSCHER, l’importateur RONDEAU aux USA. Elle a été pilotée à 2 occasions par Jean RODEAU lui-même en 1984.

Marque
RONDEAU
Modèle
382
Type
C
Première mise en circulation
1982
Genre-Carrosserie
Groupe C / IMSA – coupé
Energie-Puissance
Essence
Couleurs
Rouge + Jaune